We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Beneath The Surface [SSV09]

by ASC

Immersion 09:13
Deep Freeze 05:33
Constant 07:04
Raging Seas 08:12


Available at Juno and other fine record shops.


ASC – Beneath The Surface [SSV09]

A1. Immersion
A2. Deep Freeze
B1. Constant
B2. Raging Seas

Vinyl Etching:

A: True Beauty Lies
B: Beneath The Surface

Label text: From birth, man carries the weight of gravity on his shoulders. He is bolted to earth. But man has only to sink beneath the surface and he is free.

Vinyl mastered by Stefan Betke at Scape Mastering
Digital mastered by Matt Colton at Alchemy Mastering

“Long-serving Brit in San Diego James Clements dons his familiar ASC guise once more, for a typically atmospheric trip into deep, ambient-influenced abstract techno for Canada’s Silent Season imprint. As usual, there’s much to admire, from the sparse percussion, glacial electronics and icy melodies of “Deep Freeze”, to the minimalist, modular-sounding hum of closer “Raging Seas”. Arguably best of all, though, is “Immersion”, which sees Clements expertly combine early ’90s style dreamy ambient chords, textures and melodies – think Pete Namlook or early Irresistible Force – with scraped metal textures and impeccable IDM beats” – Juno

Beneath The Surface is available on vinyl at Juno and other fine record shops. Digital is available at Bandcamp.


released October 15, 2015


A: True Beauty Lies
B: Beneath The Surface 


all rights reserved



Silent Season

Silent Season is an electronic music label influenced by the natural surroundings of British Columbia. The sounds of Silent Season grew from the connection between deep ethereal music and the rain forests of Vancouver Island. A soundtrack to some of the most radiant and aural beauty in the world. ... more

contact / help

Contact Silent Season

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account